Why You Need to Ease Into Your Workout After Recovering From COVID

My exhausting recovery from COVID, and its effects on running.

Khyati Jain
Runner's Life

--

Image by skeeze from Pixabay

I knew it will be a tough journey to start running again when I got winded after going down 5 flights of stairs.

COVID is not an easy battle to fight — the fever, cough, and chest pains are all serious symptoms to recover from, but the worst one for me is the fatigue.

I was able to recover from these symptoms within 10 days, but the weakness is everlasting, it refuses to leave me alone. Even now on my 25th day of recovery, I took two naps before finishing this article.

I started doing yoga and light cardio last week, and I was getting antsy to go for a run so I did (I wish I hadn't though).

Yesterday, I went for my first ever run after completing the mandatory quarantine, and boy was it difficult. I have been running regularly for about three years now, but yesterday I felt like a baby running for the first time. I was tired even before completing half a lap, but I tried to push myself to at least complete one lap. However, I had to stop halfway because of chest pain.

My record for running that lap was under 2 min 20 secs, yesterday it took me more than 7 minutes to run half the same route.

--

--

Khyati Jain
Runner's Life

10x Top Writer| Certified Yoga Trainer| I write about health, fitness, lifestyle, and more. Open to writing gigs. Contact:- khyatijainwrites01@gmail.com