Wallcat (meow)

Wallcat brings your Mac a bit of visual joy, every day.

Dustin Senos ✌️
2 min readNov 18, 2015

--

If you work on a computer for a living you probably spend thousands of hours a year staring at your computer’s screen. If you’re like me, you’ve spent most of those hours with a stale desktop image. I see the same image almost everyday and it brings me no joy or inspiration. It’s just a convenient default. After asking around, I’ve confirmed that the same is true for most of my coworkers and friends. A desktop image is something we all have, yet it’s completely neglected. I’ve built a small side-project to change that: Wallcat.

Wallcat is a very simple Mac App: Every morning, when you turn on your computer you’ll be welcomed with a new, gorgeous desktop image. You have the option to pick from three themed channels: Fresh Air, Structure, and Gradients. They each offer unique imagery that ranges from vast nature scenes, dimly lit alley ways, to minimal gradients. The imagery is hand-picked from various places offering free, public domain images. Most notably, from Unsplash.

Download Wallcat

Wallcat is available today, on the Mac App Store. Please download it, and if you enjoy it, share it with your friends. If you find any bugs, please get in touch.

Download Wallcat from the Mac App Store

What’s Next?

I’m working with very talented photographers to feature their work in Wallcat. If you’re a photographer, and interested in partnering, I would love to work with you.

Wallcat is a fun project side project. It’s not meant to change the world, but hopefully, bring a bit of visual joy to your life. I appreciate you trying it out, and sharing it with your friends.

Huge thanks to all the folks who helped me test Wallcat and took time to send me feedback ❤

Follow Wallcat on Twitter: @getwallcat

Follow me on Twitter: @dustin

ps. Wallcat’s url is pretty rad: http://wall.cat

--

--

Dustin Senos ✌️

always learning. now @ The Browser Company of New York, Inc. former head of design @medium, engineer @disney. builder of @ooohours × @getwallcat × @littleipsum.