A Histamine Intolerant’s Experience with an SNRI

Audrey Atkinson
2 min readMar 29, 2022

--

I’ve never had my luck with medical professionals. I never seem to be able to explain something in such a way that it’s clear. I typically get some biased response as to what the issue is and no investigation into other possibilities. This can be super frustrating.

A giant pile of options that doctors choose from when there’s issues outside their purview.

I’ve had issues with food my entire life but could never pinpoint what the absolute problem was. I tried multiple exclusion diets, attempted to see a naturopath, as well as a dietician and other professionals. No one could ever pin down anything specific.

Of course, since health care could not find anything, it must be mental. Next thing you know, I have “generalized anxiety disorder” and I’m prescribed something that should also help with my pain.

The first trial-and-error medication I will call “medical-grade crack.” This drug was AMAZING! I felt so awesome. I couldn’t feel anything. No pain. Just awesomeness. Now, there can totally be way too much awesome without anyone knowing. Too much awesome led to too much of something because by day five on this drug, I performed what I call the “sundown dance.”

For the five days leading up to the full-body cardio bootup robot sequence, my body would have stronger and stronger muscle twitches that occurred. I would have to spend this period in bed until the twitching ended. The fifth day, it completely took over. There were no twitches anymore. I felt like a darn robot that got turned on for the first time and had to run through it’s startup sequence to confirm all its joints were functioning.

I’m sure if you could see what it looked like, you’d all be laughing. The only control I had was that I could direct which direction I hopped towards (so in the air) and my face was in control. I was able to sobbingly complain while hopping through this sequence.

You are probably curious as to what drug I was prescribed that provoked this experience. One thing to note is that not everyone would have this experience on this medication, and if it’s offered/needed, at least try it out. I did and I had this experience to share with it. The drug I’ve dubbed “medical-grade crack” based on this experience is Cymbalta.

As you’ve probably guessed by its name, it definitely occurred at sundown. It started within maybe 20 minutes to sundown and let go once the sun was past the horizon, and went in a clockwise order. It started with left elbow out, then arm, then arm bends up, then down, then whole arm resets and goes two more times. Then, it proceeded to do this for every limb, for about 20 minutes.

I’m sure I don’t have to say that I’m never taking that drug again!

--

--

Audrey Atkinson

I’m an entrepreneur, author, transcriber, closed captioner by trade, and histamine and gluten intolerant by food. Buy me a coffee here: ko-fi.com/audreyatkinson