Just Push Through It, and Everything Will Make Sense with Time

You can’t see things clearly from one zoom area; try to zoom out to see a clear picture of your life.

Kevin Nokia
6 min readMay 28, 2024
Photo by Jack Millard on Unsplash

Are you trying to control the time?

I frequently try to control when I will succeed, when I will finish my project, etc.

In my college years, I had an organization in my college where I made a permission letter to make an event. The permission letter includes many external factors that are out of my control for its completion. This permission letter needs my lecturer’s signature, the college assistant chancellor’s signature, and many other things, like my officer’s signature.

This leads me to worry too much because I wanted to finish that letter before Friday. This is where I started to control the time of things I couldn’t control, which were other people. I became so stressed seven days before the permission letter was signed.

After the permission letter is finished, of course, I feel better.

A quick note: I learned about anxiety, and the pursuit of peacefulness is pretty dangerous. You can’t wait until everything is finished for you to become peaceful. Once you finish a task, there will be another one, and another one, and another one. The bad thing about this is that you might not have become fully peaceful.
This is why you can start from within or try journaling and meditating. Peace can be found from within.

Let’s get back to the story.

Are you trying to control the future?

I honestly love to imagine my future self working hard and achieving all of my goals.

I set that at 25 years old, 26 years old, 27 years old, and many more. It was fun, though, but sometimes it could be frustrating too. When I was trying to finish a project last year, I became frustrated because I couldn’t finish the project. Then I decided to set it for the next year. Next year, I will achieve the goal.

The problem with this is that I’m trying to control my future, but I don’t have any control over it. I’m trying so hard to plan and make sure that everything will be fixed for next year or in the future.

Even so, those aren’t in our control, and it’s not us to decide what the future will become.

Are you trying to control where you are?

It seems I love to change places. I love to go to new coffee places and try something new, but sometimes I love to stay at one place.

This time is different; I have become uncomfortable with where I live. I feel like I can’t work properly because of this and that. The result of this is negative thinking, discomfort, a bad mood, etc. I live in my house uncomfortably because I blame it too much and try to control it.

How do I control it?

It’s by making all of the things around me suit my choices. I want everything—music, coolers, etc.—according to my decision. The reason for that is that I want things to feel comfortable. Sometimes my brother plays music too loud, the cooler can’t be turned on, the room door always opens, etc.

I’m trying to control that too much, and as a result, I became frustrated. I can’t be present to live in my house because of that.

As you can see from my story, those are out of our control.

  • It doesn’t make any sense why those things happen.
  • It doesn’t make any sense why you are set in a certain place.
  • It doesn’t make any sense why you are working at that job for now.
  • It doesn’t make any sense how your condition is getting robbed or dumped out right now.

It always doesn’t make any sense if you are trying to see what’s happening right now.

This could lead you to blame other people for what you know is out of your control.

  • It’s okay sometimes to get frustrated.
  • It’s okay sometimes to be stressed.
  • It’s okay sometimes to be angry.
  • It’s not okay for you to stop.
  • It’s not okay for you to resent.
  • It’s not okay for you to escape.

The one thing that you always need to do is face it over and over again until it makes sense.

It doesn’t make any sense why it’s hard for my college to get a permission letter signed.

Those days are horrible, and I don’t want to live with uncertainty like that anymore.

Even so, those things help me to develop patience even more and surrender to the only one I promise to, God.

It doesn’t make any sense why my project is not working or how my future would be.

I want to achieve my goals no matter what at age 25, but still, it’s not in my control.

This is where I need to know that what matters is where I put my progress and work, not the result too much.

It doesn’t make any sense where I was that day.

Where I was placed and where I live.

I’m trying so hard to “work hard” in a comfortable place that I forget to just focus on my work and be grateful for it. This is where I learn the valuable lesson of being grateful and just enjoying it, because those things might not come twice in life.

Old things will be remembered in the future, and I want to go back and relive those moments again.

It doesn’t make any sense why I was placed or where I live.

I’m trying so hard to “work hard” in a comfortable place that I forget to just focus on my work and be grateful for it.

This is where I learn the valuable lesson of being grateful and just enjoying it, because those things might not come twice in life.

Old things will be remembered in the future, and I want to go back and relive those moments again.

It doesn’t make any sense that I’m in college, full of debt, and trying to make it out there.

It annoys me, and sometimes I hate to think about it.

Even so, after a while at my college, it made sense that I was put at my college right now. It makes sense why I was at that college. I was built to become mature, wiser, and more patient with how things work and to make the best of where I am.

The one thing that I need to do is face it.

Zoom out

If you are trying to figure out what is happening right now, zoom out.

  • Zoom out on why you do this and that.
  • Zoom out on what is happening right now.
  • Zoom out on when these things might make sense.

Even though it might not give you certainty, at least it gives you something to see and hope for.

Patience is what you need for now. You just need to push through it and work at it. Make the best of where you are, and everything will make sense in the end.

Time is always ticking, and you know that the wheel is always moving.

There will be ups and downs.

Even if you don’t believe in the future, just promise that God has a great plan for you to move ahead in life.

New Substack! ✨

I’ve been working on making my articles more structured and exclusive, and I found the perfect platform in Substack.

I’m excited to share two new newsletters with you:

  • Kevin Nokia Writing: My personal journey from struggling through depression to becoming a successful individual.
  • I Am Literate: Discover how to replace scrolling addiction with effective reading habits to improve focus and attention span.

Join now for exclusive articles and a growing community!

Essential Resources for Your Journey 📚

  • My Booknotes (Free) | Download here
    Understand What You Read with Implementation Guide
  • Life-changing Blueprint (Free) | Download Here
    How to Change Your Life with Implementation Guide
  • 30-day Simple Habit Tracker (Free) | Download Here
    Track Your Daily Habits with Customizable Months

--

--

Kevin Nokia

Building reading and writing habits to eliminate doom-scrolling with I Am Literate https://substack.com/@kevinnokiawriting