Pursuing Your Passion Takes More Resilience Than I Imagined

Life as a full-time creator is not all sunshine and rainbows as I’d hoped.

Anangsha Alammyan
Freelancer’s Hub
Published in
5 min readMar 5, 2022

--

Image from Anangsah’s Instagram

As of 5th March 2022, I’ve been self-employed for 6 months.

Previously, I worked as an Assistant Professor in Civil Engineering and was pursuing my Ph.D.

Now, I’m a full-time creator with a thriving writing business.

I do content marketing for companies centered around the creator economy and Web3 projects. I’m also a writing coach and help new writers design the life of their dreams by writing about exactly what they want.

Life as a self-employed creative has been an amazing ride so far. I’ve seen some incredible highs like my building a product from scratch and scaling it to huge success, landing some unbelievable clients and sponsorship deals, learning on the go, building my social media audience to 120,000+, and growing two successful weekly newsletters for creators and writers.

But there have been some downsides I could have never imagined before embarking on this journey.

I’ve fought my way through erratic schedules, lack of work-life balance, terrible clients, and last-minute cancellations of invoices worth thousands of dollars.

--

--