The “I’m Perfect As I Am” Mindset Might Be Hampering Your Growth

The science behind why accepting your fault is good for your mental health and overall personal development.

Anangsha Alammyan
Mind Cafe
Published in
7 min readDec 28, 2020

--

Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

“The editor is racist,” my friend told me through tears of anger. “They rejected my article because I’m from India.”

I looked at her in surprise. A few weeks ago, she’d submitted a piece about writing well to a popular literary magazine. On the previous day, she’d received a letter of rejection. This was devastating, but I thought we had moved on. I didn’t understand why she brought it up again, that too, in such a context.

“What do you mean?” I asked her.

“They published a piece with the exact same message as I’d written just because the author is from the US. See?”

She then proceeded to shove her phone in my face. I read through the article, and yes, the core idea was similar to my friend’s piece, but I could see the formatting and the way the author had presented the concepts were unique and interesting. Sure, this might be because the author was a native English speaker, but the changes weren’t so monumental that my friend couldn’t rework her piece and resubmit. I had published with this magazine before too, and I know the editors aren’t racist…

--

--