How To Be More Compassionate

Kelly Clarkson Didn’t Know Whether To Scratch Her Watch Or Wind Her Butt

What really makes us stronger

Jam | Creative
What Rhymes With Avocado?
3 min readMar 13, 2022

--

Photo by Damir Spanic on Unsplash

What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger
Stand a little taller
What doesn’t kill you makes a fighter
Footsteps even lighter
“Stronger” (What Doesn’t Kill You)
Kelly Clarkson

“I’m turning around, I can’t do it, I can’t do it, I can’t do it! I need to go, I need to go!” Ali Thompson, “Stronger” (What Doesn’t Kill You) Co-Writer

Ali cried this in a phone call to her mother as she headed to a recording session after spending the prior night hysterical and awake grieving a now distant boyfriend.

Ali’s mother answered her distressed daughter with the cliche, “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.”

Ali turned her mother’s words into a song. Yes, Ali got a hit record.

The rest of us got this pop platitude pumping into our collective psyche ever since 2011.

Since 2011, seductive suicide has almost murdered me several times.

Our struggle didn’t make me stronger or a fighter, it made me an angry, scared, and exhausted, flesh ghost among the living.

--

--