I’m Being The Client I Wish I’d Found in My Freelance Writing Days

Lessons in entrepreneurship from my freelancing career.

Anangsha Alammyan
The Startup
Published in
6 min readMar 14, 2024

--

Image from the author’s Instagram

I’ve had my fair share of client horror stories as a freelance writer.

From unpaid invoices to expecting 2x the scope for half the money, my freelance writing career was full of ups and downs.

The freelance writing model worked well for a couple years, until I realized I had way too many clients, and the only way to manage them all was to work 14-hour days.

My ambition and financial planning took me to a stage where I had no time for myself, and all I looked forward to on a daily basis was work.

That’s when I took baby steps towards outsourcing and delegating work.

At one point in my career, I had a client who expected five $200 1200-word articles every week, and having them on a retainer basis gave me the confidence to hire my first writer.

Since then, I’ve come a long way. My team composition currently looks like —

  • 3 writers for 3 different niches
  • 1 content manager to convey client expectations to writers and check if their work is upto the mark
  • 1 SEO expert to edit and finalize the articles.

--

--