I Didn’t Meet My 12-Month Income Goal, But That Doesn’t Make Me a Failure

Still chasing the elusive $10,000 a month, but I planned my work around my life, not the other way round.

Anangsha Alammyan
The Startup
Published in
5 min readJan 10, 2022

--

Image from author’s Instagram

You might have heard freelancers saying, “I want to make $$$$$ a month by the end of the year.” This article is about why you should NOT do that.

I know how counter-intuitive this sounds, but hear me out.

I started my journey as a full-time self-employed writer in September 2021. But I’ve been freelancing since December 2020. Since then, my writing has reached millions of readers worldwide and earned me thousands of dollars.

But I would have reached much greater heights today if I hadn’t been blinded by making money-centered goals at the start of my career.

In this post, I want to dissect the mistakes I made and share the lessons so you don’t get caught in the same trap. If you’re looking to build a career as a writer, read on for some valuable insights.

The Failure That 2021 Was

When freelancers start their journey, they always aim to make big money. I followed the same path. In 2021, my goal was to make $10,000 US a month by the end of the year.

--

--