By Lincoln W Daniel | Read my new book: “Java for Humans: Learn to Code Life”| Click to Subscribe to ModernNerd Youtube Channel for Coding Videos

How I Went From Newbie to Interning at IBM, NASA, & Medium in 1 Year & How You Can, Too

Lincoln W Daniel
Writers Guild
Published in
11 min readDec 29, 2015

--

In August of 2013, I decided to be a marketing major because I was afraid of the engineering related math. A semester later, a friend convinced me to get through the math, and I decided to switch to computer science (CS) because I wanted to develop software to enable people to accomplish their goals more efficiently. Since then, I’ve been fortunate to have the opportunity to work with great people on incredible things at companies like IBM and soon to be Medium. Now I’m writing this piece to help others get to where I am by sharing some tips I learned along the way.

This piece is a bit long, so here’s what it covers: how I went from not knowing much about programming to gaining experience before internships, how to make yourself a great candidate for employers, and a quick run at how to build a resume that will catch eyes. Sure, my approach at the game won’t work for everyone, but it’ll help everyone get started.

I intend to inspire you to keep going and work hard to achieve what may currently seem impossible. Two years ago, I wouldn’t have thought I’d ever be writing a piece like this. I hope this helps you in preparing for and executing your job search.

Skip to the bottom to view my résumés

From Newb to Intern in…

--

--

Lincoln W Daniel
Writers Guild

Chief Bull @ BullAcademy.org ® Elevating writers @ ManyStories.com. Author @JavaForHumans Ex: Editor in Chief MarkGrowth (acq.), Engineer @Medium @GoPuff