Do You Wear a Sign Around Your Neck?

Is it ugly, unworthy, dumb, nerd, or something else?

Jenny Calvert
Koinonia
4 min readMay 1, 2023

--

Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

The year 1961 would leave a lasting impression to haunt me many years later. I didn’t know it then, but it would be my last year attending a Hazelwood, Missouri, school called Elm Grove Elementary. I was a tiny-for-my-age fourth grader.

My teacher loomed over me like a giant. She wore her black hair in a tight bun on top of her head every day. She always wore a black pencil skirt, a crisply pressed white blouse with long sleeves, wire-rimmed glasses, and never any makeup. Yes, she looked like the lady on the Old Maid deck of cards. Her name was Miss Rhoads.

I was a well-behaved student and never got into trouble; however, I was not doing academically well in her class. I was behind and needed some help. I assume Miss Rhoads thought she would help me by calling me a bum, so my name was displayed on the bum list in front of the class for all to see.

One day, she caught me by surprise. She grabbed me, lifted me off the ground with her towering body, and shook me hard. I will never forget her eyes with streaks of blood shot looking like they would pop right out of the sockets. I was glad she had the wire-rimmed glasses to divert the aim if that would happen.

I was filled with terror as my little body would endure this violent attack, but the words she spoke would stay with me for the rest of my life. She said, “Jenny! If you don’t get caught up, you will grow up to be a bum, a nothing.”

The thing is, I needed help, not words of condemnation.

In that one phrase, she had proclaimed her words of punishment. My sentence was, “Forever a stupid nothing.” Encouraging words would have worked better.

Unfortunately, when we moved from Hazelwood to the little town of Union, I was placed in a class of less bright students. I didn’t know that until another student told me. The fact that I suffered from an undiagnosed Attention Deficit Disorder didn’t help matters. That would be a named affliction of the future.

I wore the invisible sign around my neck named Stupid Bum.

I was not dumb, but I wore that sign for many years. Miss Rhoads’ words did not help in the least that day. If anything, it crushed my spirit.

What is the sign hanging on your neck today? Is it ugly, clumsy, fat, dunce, untalented, stupid, unworthy, unloved, etc.? Do you feel like the following picture is speaking directly to you? Trust me! Keep reading!

God’s approach to us is not like Miss Rhoads’s. He picks us up in His arms and tells us that we are a perfectly created masterpiece in His eyes. He offers help, something that Miss Rhoads did not.

God wants us to be victorious conquerors over anything that squashed our spirits. He gave His life as a ransom for us. That makes our worth very valuable.

Stop listening to the voices of condemnation in your head, and instead, listen to the sweet words Jesus whispers, “I give you all my unfailing love.”

There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus. (Romans 8: 1, NRSVA)

And even though this scripture is talking about the condemnation of sin, it also alludes of much more. Later in Romans 8, it says:

For all who are led by the Spirit of God are children of God. For you did not receive a spirit of slavery to fall back into fear, but you have received a spirit of adoption. When we cry, ‘Abba! Father!’ it is that very Spirit bearing witness with our spirit that we are children of God, and if children, then heirs, heirs of God and joint heirs with Christ — if, in fact, we suffer with him so that we may also be glorified with him. (Romans 8:14–17, NRSVA)

We are children of the Creator God, adopted and glorified with Him. He has eradicated our spirit of slavery to self-condemnation in all forms. If we have a disability, He can use it for His glory. Just look at Joni Eareckson Tada and God’s ministry through her. She is only one example.

Satan knows that as long as we wear our badges of defeat, we are less effective in the Lord’s ministry.

The LORD is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit. (Psalms 34:18, NRSVA)

Are you brokenhearted or crushed in spirit? Did your parents make you feel clumsy, your classmates a nerd, your boss lazy, or your co-workers fat or dumb?

Jesus wants to heal our broken, crushed spirits. If we allow Him, He will come and remove that ugly old sign we wear around our necks and replace it with a new one.

The sign of Christ will read, “My child is beautiful, forgiven, perfect, worthy, and chosen!”

--

--

Jenny Calvert
Koinonia

Jenny is a Christian devotional writer. She writes for several magazines, books, and online venues, sharing the peace, hope, and light of Christ.