The Art of Living Gently

The only way to escape pain, rush, and a journey to find eternal peace

Renuka Gavrani
Better Advice
Published in
7 min readMay 13, 2023

--

Lost somewhere in my mind

For the majority of my life, I have been rushing. When I was in school, I rushed to get into college. I used to study hard so that I can get into the BEST college (which I couldn’t). When I was in college, I never sat in peace like my friends. I was always all over the place. I was either listening to motivational content, applying for internships, worrying about my future, or simply judging other people who were having fun in college.

But when I look back in time now, I can see a nervous and under-confident girl who wanted to make it big in the world only that she didn’t know HOW.

One of my biggest fears in life was (and maybe still is), ‘not being able to achieve success.’

And I didn’t give birth to this fear.

Since childhood, I was compared for everything. My parents compared me to my cousin sister who was way too intelligent and I was nothing in comparison to her.

My other relatives used to compare me to my sister who is way too beautiful than I was. And I hate to victimize my character but for almost 15 years, I have lived my life in fear and jealousy and comparison.

--

--

Renuka Gavrani
Better Advice

I talk about slow & Intentional living - taking you closer to a happy life. I am a published author of the book 'The Art of Being Alone': https://a.co/d/531JIFq