My Adult Autistic Super Powers? Vanish like Schrödinger’s Weird Cat

johnnyprofane1
ArtfullyAutistic
Published in
6 min readFeb 8, 2023

--

“Schrödinger’s Autist,” by Johnny Profane Âû (Knapp). Published 02/7/2023, AutisticAF blog.

My skills, energy, focus, interest…? They materialize & vanish at whim… like ghosts.

Yanking my autistic life up, down & sideways. How’s that feel…?? Funny you should ask…

🚨Disturbing images, profanity, opinionated, a startling lack of topic sentences…

Phone’s ringing. I roll over. Crack one eye. Peek out a window into glaring sun. Noon…?

Phone’s still ringing. Woke me up… but I can’t face it. One of those days. Autistic burnout… so been asleep 18 hours.

So far.

It’s 1988. So I wait for the answering machine to do its thing… Sigh, push the button, then…

“What’s the fucking deal…?” Screaming on the other end.

I’m writing copy for a catalog. Dave? The guy leaving the message? Trying to sell New Age crystal jewelry… to folks with too much money.

And, at the moment he’s not feeling that universal harmony vibe.

“What’s the holdup? We gotta go to press. No more excuses, Knapp. We gotta go to press.”

--

--