If You Don’t Like Yourself, Give Yourself a Makeover (Like I Did)

Renuka Gavrani
Better Advice
Published in
7 min readMar 27, 2023

--

For the longest time of my life, I was compared to, laughed at, and pitied. And that started way before I could gain some sense to know what was being decided for me.

My color complexion is the darkest in my entire family. I was not fat but my other cousins were slim like models so I was always an object of discussion. I wasn’t good at studies either. All in all, a total piece of waste.

Or so I used to think.

No matter how many self-help books you read or motivational videos and quotes you come across, you cannot change the way you look at yourself until you step back to analyze your life.

For example; Every motivational speaker says, ‘F*ck what say, you should focus on yourself’ but the truth is, it’s not that simple when you were trained to judge yourself based on what others say about you.

I have been there and after reading a lot about childhood trauma and basic psychology, I can capture how I still work out of the approval of others (sometimes).

However, this blog isn’t about childhood trauma, it’s about reinventing yourself so let’s get back to that.

The problem with most of the ‘reinvent’ titles is that they all suggest you follow the same path like waking up early

--

--

Renuka Gavrani
Better Advice

I talk about slow & Intentional living - taking you closer to a happy life. I am a published author of the book 'The Art of Being Alone': https://a.co/d/531JIFq