Prepping Your Garden for Winter

As autumn grows to a close, we need to prepare for spring.

Lynne Collier
Weeds & Wildflowers
4 min readSep 27, 2022

--

A group of yellow flowers called Black-Eyed Susan.
Black-Eyed Susan photo by Lynne Collier

The white fluffy stuff is almost here — in my neck of the woods anyway.

I still have a variety of autumn flowers in bloom in my gardens and feel very blessed. My marsh roses are stunningly bright pink against a backdrop of yellow Black-Eyed Susan and purple Mums.

I hope you still have colour where you are. Perhaps you live on the opposite side of the seasons to me, and you’re just starting your spring pastels. That’s what I’ll have in mind for the next six months!

As we near winter, I know I must do a few things to prepare. The winters here, in southern Ontario, are pretty harsh, and plants need care now to over-winterize. Living on the edge of a forest, I tend to do things with a more natural approach.

My To-Do list for autumn

Bring all tropical plants I want to save indoors before the temperature dips lower than double digits overnight. I’m fortunate to have a sunroom (solarium) to keep my tropical plants in over the winter. Any sunny location will do, but I need to be mindful of plants that may be poisonous to children and pets, and my sunroom has doors on it.

--

--

Lynne Collier
Weeds & Wildflowers

Writer of stories and poetry. Christ follower. Yorkshire lass living in Ontario. Loves nature and gardening. https://lynnecollier.com/my-books/