The A-Z Handbook for a Successful Creative Career

Yours today, for free

ART + marketing
Published in
5 min readSep 7, 2017

--

Success and art.

Can the two even go together these days?

It seems that amongst all the endless talent, and the tonnes of content being shared online, it’s next to impossible to become well known and make good money as a creative person.

It can hurt, to put so much time and energy into your work, only to see a trickle of interest, when it should be a torrent.

I’ve been there, and it sucks.

How do you stay motivated to create something beautiful, make ground, make money and stand out, not just once, but consistently?

Can you even do this without losing your soul?

How can you ensure that you don’t waste years and decades of your life running around a hamster wheel with mediocre results?

Is it even possible to find rewarding success as an artist, or an entrepreneur, without lottery-levels of luck?

Art by Claire Powell, featured inside the book.

As an illustrator and writer for over ten years, I’ve had my fair share of gut-wrenching failure, and I’m very familiar with blush-inducing mistakes.

But I’ve also been there when things have worked. When it has clicked.

And I still have to pinch myself that I’ve managed to stay working for myself, and doing well for over a decade now.

Most of all I’ve managed to make a career doing what I love while being paid for it.

To keep myself going and in the interest of all the creatives I teach, I’m always thinking about what constitutes success, and what should be avoided.

It can be hard to know what to do, especially when there is so much information out there, and a lot of it is conflicting and confusing.

What I’ve realised over all these years is that understanding how to succeed on your own is a matter of internalising not just one winning idea, but a selection of great ideas, that form a wider idea mesh.

The most successful creatives have the strongest ‘idea meshes.’

Art by Claire Powell, featured inside the book.

And when I talk about ideas I’m not just talking about any cookie-cutter idea. The pathway to success as a creative, especially if you work for yourself, is firmly rooted in doing what brings you to life.

This is often overlooked.

If a method doesn’t get you fired up, and over the long term, it’s not worth it because you will just give up when you get overwhelmed.

That’s why I created a book that lists all of the very best ideas and methods I’ve picked up over a decade of working for myself — all ideas that focus explicitly on keeping us motivated over the long-term.

And all in bitesize form.

Get the book for free here.

Give me an example…

Making things of quality is one thing, but as I talk about in the book, it is quantity that can be forgotten. We must be prolific yet focused. We want to be creative machines.

Producing more, yet more narrowly, has been one of the most important concepts that has guided me to success, not only in improving my skills, but also in creating momentum, personal drive and being able to stand out.

“Joining the Dots is an engaging read, beautifully illustrated, and offers concepts about actually generating a sustainable income from your artistic endeavours — which is not always easy to do.” — Sarah, Amazon reviewer.

These are all concepts that I have found are rooted to the deeper parts of our human spirit.

These ideas will pick you up, inspire you, and help you take the correct action no matter what you’re creating.

All the ideas are available in my new 130-page book:

‘Joining the Dots: The A-Z Handbook for Making a Success of Your Creative Skills.’

You can avoid the pile of mistakes I made.

The book can act as a mini-mentor and a great foundation on which to build a successful career making things, and being paid well for it.

The cool thing is, I’ve made it available for a while, totally free, when you subscribe to my newsletter right now.

“The book is fresh and easy reading, as much as it is amazingly true!” — Amasylis, artist.

Subscribe via this link.

Who am I?

I’m an illustrator and writer currently based in Bangkok with more than a decade of experience working with clients all over the globe from Google to the BBC, Kraft, Wired Magazine and Saatchi & Saatchi.

Who are you?

This book is for anyone who is creative, entrepreneurial, and inventive and wants to make an impact with what you do.

This is for those of you who are just getting started, but it’s also a nice companion for those who want to make some ground, get motivated, and freshen things up.

Sign up to my newsletter today at JoiningtheDotsBook.com, and you will instantly receive a link to download the ebook.

You will also then hear from me over time with new posts and ideas through the newsletter to help support you on your path.

Here are some previews from inside the book:

Sign up via this page, and get your book today, for free.

Thank you for taking a look!

Originally published at steemit.com on September 7, 2017.

--

--

ART + marketing

Helping you develop a consistent writing habit with impact. Regular tips: https://www.masteryden.com