The Truth: Being A Plus Sized Woman

I’m not ashamed. #PlusAndProud

Cammie Wires
5 min readFeb 8, 2014

I’m sure you’ve always heard about all types of women complaining about how they look. “Do these jeans make me look fat?” “Ugh, I’m so ugly with no make up!” and “I wish I was skinny!”

That used to be me.

I purposely made that picture big because I feel like society’s insecurities are constantly being shoved in our faces.

Growing up, I not only had the “fat girl” label, but I had the “buckteeth” and “weird girl” label also. I remember on several occasions in 5th grade that I would go to lunch with my class, and I would end up sitting by myself. It wasn’t by choice. I would sit down at a table with a bunch of my other classmates but they would kick me out. If I didn’t get up, they would all leave and go to another table. It embarrassed me that the lunch lady would always make the ENTIRE cafeteria be quiet as she yelled “SOMEONE COME SIT WITH HER!”

It sounds so cliche, but this really happened to me. Everyday.

This was me in 3rd grade, I wore a bikini cause I thought it was cool….but in reality, at my size it wasn’t.

As you can see…I wasn’t kidding. I really did have buckteeth and I really was overweight. There’s more “fat” I cut out of the picture for sizing purposes. I weighed 150 lbs by the time I was 8. Children don’t really understand that words really do hurt and can affect you if you let them.

I genuinely hated myself as a child.

I hated how I looked. I hated that no one wanted to be my friend. I hated that I would just come home and play with the neighborhood kids who were obligated to play with me cause their parents wouldn’t let them be mean.

Sulye and I at age 9.

Although I didn’t have many friends, I had a childhood best friend. Her name was Sulye. We met in first grade and we clicked because we were both the new kids. She moved to town exactly one month after I did. After we became friends and our parents met, they became best friends also. She defended me when people would make fun of me and I would do the same for her. We were two peas in a pod. Eventually, after 11 years of friendship, we had our differences. However, without having her in my life as a kid, I would not be the stable woman that I am today.

Over the last 23 years of my life, I’ve learned to overcome my hatred for myself. I used to look in the mirror and be that fat girl who would cry because she wouldn’t fit in. Then I saw this quote that sincerely changed my outlook on life.

“Why try so hard to fit in when you were born to stand out?”
-Dr. Seuss

Good ol’ Dr. Seuss. Always knows how to make people think differently, regardless of your age.

I couldn’t believe how TRUE this statement was. It made me realize that my whole life, I was constantly looking at all my flaws and what was preventing me from becoming one of the “populars.” I realized it was time to start looking at all the GREAT qualities and talents that I posses, instead of what I lacked.

You want the truth about being a plus sized woman? k.

A picture of myself in November 2013.

Yeah, I’m 5'7 and 250 lbs of woman…so what? What does “ugly” really mean anyway? I work full time and still manage to fit being a college student, daughter, sister, aunt of 13, and friend in my busy life. I volunteer for the local fire department. I go to church on Sundays. I’m a really good person. I’m beautiful.

The way I look at my life now compared to how I looked at my life even just 5 years ago is completely different. I don’t think I’m “ugly” anymore. I don’t ask people “do these jeans make me look fat?” I no longer look in the mirror and tell myself how much of a mess I am. Now I look in the mirror and tell myself “you are BEAUTIFUL!” Why?

Because I’m confident in who I am!

To be 100% real with you..sometimes it really can be a struggle to be plus sized, Because 1) I have a hard time finding clothes my size. When I do find the perfect shirt or pants, they’re twice as expensive as “regular” sized clothes. 2)Sometimes, I have a hard time keeping up with life’s demands…physically. Going to the gym sometimes feels like a form of punishment instead of a delight. I get out of breath easily and get REALLY lazy, haha. I also really like food….seriously. I can eat. I am Sicilian after all.

This is me without makeup.

Whether or not I have makeup on doesn’t matter to me anymore. I learned that yeah makeup can help compliment my features, but it’s not necessary for every single occasion. Ok, so maybe a little makeup is okay for every day use, but there’s no need to over-do it because then I’m taking away from what God created me to look like.

Now, don’t get me wrong.

I know I need to lose the weight—not just for physical beauty but also for health reasons. Being over weight can cause many health problems in life. I know that one day with support and hard work that I will reach my goal of weighing 150 lbs. But until then…I’m going to love myself and know that being plus sized isn’t a curse. It’s who I am—at least for the time being.

I am plus sized and proud.

I do have one MAJOR tip for fellow plus sizers—

Buy clothes that fit— not ones you wish would fit!

Honestly, this will get you far in life. NO ONE LIKES MUFFIN TOPS.

Love, Peace, and Chicken Grease.

--

--

Cammie Wires

I write about things people dont like to talk about. Proud Auntie of 19. Dedicated worshiper. Music junkie. Terrified of rollercoasters and disappointment.