Take ’em All published in SubtleTea

andrea janov
1 min readJan 5, 2017

--

Listen :: Cocksparrer :: Take ’em All

Read over at SubtleTea

Take ’em All

Only one street light sputters

almost illuminating the alley.

As I walk from Metro I hear

Motorhead spitting

through the speakers

of Hughes’ parked car

and skateboard cracks

against the pavement.

Black T-shirts with assorted

skate company and band logos

sit on their boards,

daring each other

to do impossible tricks.

I tackle Dave. He slides

over, making just

enough room on his board for

me to squeeze on and press against his damp body.

Hey Bratface, he says not looking at me.

Matt is trying to kickflip over

six boards, I have ten bucks on

him losing a tooth or needing

stitches in his face.

I have ten on him

breaking an arm

or wrist, Hughes adds

not looking at me either.

I sigh,

watch Matt — look to the ground

then back at the tower of interlocked boards

And what if he doesn’t

seriously injure himself? I ask.

Then he gets the money, they say.

Matt throws down his board

pushes off

wheels grind crushing pebbles

against the macadam as he

rolls to the tower

pops up…

--

--

andrea janov

Startup culture + people operations professional who believes in individuals, equity, nontraditional career paths, outside perspectives, + tattoos in boardrooms