Be a person, use an automated response.

How automation and robots can make the job application process more humane.

Eli Mellen
2 min readApr 18, 2014
How automation can help. Gif from Robot and Frank via Giphy

I completed my graduate studies last week, meaning that I’m a newly minted expert…in applying for jobs. I have applied for bagillions of jobs, fellowships, and grants over the last few months and years. The process follows the same general pattern:

  1. Find and apply for job
  2. Fret endlessly
  3. After not hearing back for weeks wonder if they even received your application

More times than not, however, if you haven’t gotten the job you never hear back. I can sympathize with this; I understand the constraints of communication and time, especially around potentially awkward topics. I, in all honesty, don’t need that rejection letter. No response is a pretty clear response.

I do, however, think that once you apply for a job, especially over the internet, it would be nice to get an automated response confirming that the application has been received. It is a simple step that in my experience is rarely implemented. It is a compassionate tool that assures applicants that you are listening. It turns an otherwise inhuman process into an interaction. To encourage the use of automatic responses I’ve come up with some quick receipts of delivery.

“Thanks for applying. We have received your application for review. Please do not send any further inquiry. We will contact you with how next to proceed.”

“WOOHOO! Application received.”

“We’ve received your application, thanks.”

Thanks you Wikipedia, I ❤ you and your low resolution dinosaur imagery.

“Pterodactyls intercepted your application, luckily one of the pterodactyls was a turncoat and relayed its contents. We’ll be in touch. Thank you kindly.”

With just a few lines of text an otherwise alienating or stressful experience can be turned into a smooth, maybe even enjoyable one.

I’ve heard it said that if something is worth doing, it is worth doing well. I believe that if it is worth doing, it is worth doing in such a way that’ll hopefully make someone smile. While perhaps this is not as gracefully put, I like it. If we have the power to make an experience a pleasant one, oughtn't we?

P.S.

Have suggestions for other delivery receipts? I’d love to include them! @eli_oat

--

--