5 Lessons From Jainism That Can Actually Lead To a Healthy and Happy Life

Jains have been following these habits for centuries to lead a better life.

Khyati Jain
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

--

A statue of Lord Mahavira.
A statue of Lord Mahavira. Photo by Rajesh Mishra on Unsplash

Jainism is an ancient religion founded more than 2500 years ago by Lord Mahavira. I am a disciple of Jainism, hence my last name is Jain.

Jainism can teach you simple ways to attain a healthy life. There are many practices that Jains have been following for centuries that are just getting recognized by science.

Here are the five practices from my religion that can lead to a healthier life
(if applied).

1. Live And Let Others Live

This is my religion’s tagline.

From a very young age, we are taught to look after the creatures that cannot protect themselves.

Mahatma Gandhi was a big believer in Ahimsa(non-violence), which is a pillar of Jainism. He was influenced by his Jain neighbors to practice non-violence, which gave birth to the Satyagraha movement.

The biggest implication of this message is vegetarianism. We are taught not to eat meat or use leather products.

I am 25 years old and I have never eaten meat. I am a lacto-vegetarian.

--

--

Khyati Jain
Change Your Mind Change Your Life

10x Top Writer| Certified Yoga Trainer| I write about health, fitness, lifestyle, and more. Open to writing gigs. Contact:- khyatijainwrites01@gmail.com