Using Johnny Decimal With Obsidian Solved My Organising Woes

The granular system I swore I’d never touch turned out to be the missing half of my paperless equation

Ellane W
Produclivity

--

Line drawing on a partial blue background of a hand holding an iron, ironing a piece of paper with a Johnny Decimal number on it with other text. The iron has some steam coming from its tip.
Image by author

Medium Friend link

When I first saw people feverishly setting up their Johnny Decimal number catagories and evangelising about the benefits, I was intrigued.

I have to say, I wanted what they had: the sense of order, the neat rows of numbers, the library-like efficiency of it all.

They’re not the only clever button in the jar, thought I. If they can do this, I can, too! So I took a gander at what it would take to catalog my life. A very brief gander, if I’m being completely honest.

NO. Never. Ab-solutely Not.

Within moments I picked up that, clever button or not, this was not going to work for me. No no no no no. I needed more freedom, more flexibility than that, thank you very much! I wasn’t about to shackle myself to a time-wasting, brain-pickling system that required an ultra-specific slot for everything.

Why would I choose to constrain my precious creative brain this way? Folders, shmolders. Haven’t they heard of tags?

--

--

Ellane W
Produclivity

Designer and educational publisher for 30 years+. Plain-text advocate. Still using paper, but less of it. https://linktr.ee/miscellaneplans