Do You Know How to Make the Most of Where You Are?

Do you make the most of where you are by working as hard as you can or by being grateful for what you have?

Kevin Nokia
5 min readJun 11, 2024
Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

Make the most of where you are!

We might have heard that in many quotes.

What is making the most of where you are?

Well, making the most of where you are means fully utilizing and appreciating your current situation or environment to achieve the best possible outcomes and personal satisfaction.

This means you are using where you are now, with the best of yourself, to achieve the best result. This is just an explanation that might help you understand more.

Why do I need to make the most of where I am, and you should too?

I didn’t make the most of where I was

It all started in high school, where I became “useless.”

I’m not entirely useless; it just feels like I don’t make the most of where I am when I’m in high school. I was pretty excited at first to join my high school because my high school is something that I have wanted for years.

I spent my entire high school studying before exams, working assignments when I wanted to, playing games for 8 hours, playing with friends and talking about girls, admiring someone’s success in high school, and daydreaming about becoming the best student.

That might sum up my high school.

I never spent my entire high school career working hard, being consistent, or even doing something more valuable.

I have many facilities, such as a library, friends who are working hard, teachers who could be mentors, competitions, and many more. When I’m in high school, there are so many opportunities for me to join competitions and win them in order to improve my skills, but I don’t use them effectively.

I was pretty dumb when I was in high school because I spent my time playing games and finding a girlfriend.

I spend my time with friends on useless things.

Good memories

Well, I did make some good memories.

I was also grateful that I won some competition, even though it was not much. I’m grateful that I had a girlfriend when I was in high school, and I was grateful that I made some friends along the way.

I was pretty grateful, but not satisfied.

The problem with this is not about being grateful or not, because we need to be grateful for wherever we are. We need to be grateful that we can breathe, see, and might be moving today because there’s no excuse for us to not be grateful when we are still alive.

Even so, I’m not satisfied when I think about my high school.

I just feel like I can do more, I can work more, and I can become the best student in my high school.

Becoming the best

What’s the purpose of being the best student or making the most of where you are?

It could help you achieve success easily in the future.

If I made the most of where I was when I was in high school, I would probably not end up where I am right now. It doesn’t mean I’m not grateful for what I have right now, but I might end up differently. We never know whether it is better or worse.

Other than that, you become satisfied, not like I am, where I feel regrets sometimes remembering my high school memories.

Being satisfied with what you have done is one of the best feelings in the world. This is what we are aiming for, because time flies.

Time is always ticking, and there’s no turning back when we want.

Now I have learned to make the most of where I am, and I try not to do the same thing where I am in high school. I tried many different things; I tried joining some competitions by myself; I tried to learn more, study more, and work harder than I was before.

Those accumulate until I can say to myself, “I did great.”.

Well, how do you make the most of where you are?

There’s no step-by-step tutorial to make the most of where you are, and you don’t need that.

The one thing you need to know, and this might be the principle you can hold on to when you want to make the most of where you are, is:

  • Work as hard as you can in the place where you have been placed.
  • Work as hard as you can to be grateful for what you have achieved.
  • Work as hard as you can on the responsibilities you have been given.

Time flies and will never be back, and dissatisfaction could be the feeling that you aren’t being grateful enough. Other than that, for you to become grateful, you must do your best to be where you are. When you stick action with memories, you will remember that you have done great.

Well, you are already here, reading until the end of my article about making the most of where you are.

Before you go, one thing you need to know is that you are doing great.

I know you can make the most of where you are starting now.

New Substack! ✨

I’ve been working on making my articles more structured and exclusive, and I found the perfect platform in Substack.

I’m excited to share two new newsletters with you:

  • Kevin Nokia Writing: My personal journey from struggling through depression to becoming a successful individual.
  • I Am Literate: Discover how to replace scrolling addiction with effective reading habits to improve focus and attention span.

Join now for exclusive articles and a growing community!

Essential Resources for Your Journey 📚

  • My Booknotes (Free) | Download here
    Understand What You Read with Implementation Guide
  • Life-changing Blueprint (Free) | Download Here
    How to Change Your Life with Implementation Guide
  • 30-day Simple Habit Tracker (Free) | Download Here
    Track Your Daily Habits with Customizable Months

--

--

Kevin Nokia

Building reading and writing habits to eliminate doom-scrolling with I Am Literate https://substack.com/@kevinnokiawriting