Ajar, by the Door

Ernio Hernandez
Drama Club
Published in
5 min readAug 14, 2018

--

A short play by Ernio Hernandez

original photo by Holly Mindrup

LIGHTS UP.

CHARM walks on stage, stops on a mark and looks out toward the audience. TIME walks on stage slowly, stops on a mark and slowly looks out toward the audience. BOTH take a deep breath.

TIME. Good evening…

CHARM. Good evening.

(A long pause.)

TIME. Do I start?

CHARM. Do I?

TIME. I uh…

CHARM. Please, be my guest.

CHARM takes a step back and motions TIME to take the lead. TIME looks down, checks the mark, adjusts and slowly looks out at the audience again. After a long pause…

TIME. (wistfully) Ah… look at all the lone… (abruptly) No. You know what? On second thought, you go.

CHARM. What? Oh. Are you sure?

TIME. Yes, I think it best if you start.

CHARM. That’s fine.

TIME. Do you mind?

CHARM. No, not at all. Happy to, even.

TIME. I wouldn’t want to… you know…

CHARM. Want to…?

TIME. Steal your, uh… thunder or…

CHARM. Oh.

--

--