A 7-Day Routine to Move Past Pain and Embrace a New Beginning

Journal prompts and exercises modeled after the East-Indian ritual ‘Bohag Bihu’ to help you get past your hurdles.

Anangsha Alammyan
Mind Cafe
Published in
10 min readApr 14, 2021

--

Orchids in spring marking a new beginning (Photo by Yeimy Olivier on Unsplash)

Everything around me feels jaded.

I’m on the verge of a major career switch, and there’s still a month of notice period left.

It’s as if I’m stuck in limbo.

I can’t work wholeheartedly for my new life because some office commitments pull me back. And I can’t throw myself into my old job because I know only a few more days remain. It’s pointless getting invested in something I’m giving up soon.

This is taking a toll on my mental health, making me unable to start anything new, or even see my old projects to completion. I struggle to get out of bed each morning, wondering if there’s a point left to anything. It’s as if I’m on auto-pilot, mechanically counting off days on my calendar and waiting till I get the new lease of life.

Today, as I was scrolling through social media to get my mind off things, I got a call from my father wishing me a happy Bohag Bihu. It’s a festival marking the onset of the Assamese new year, and one of the most widely-loved holidays in the northeastern part of India.

--

--