Why I Am Happy With Being AVERAGE

How being average makes my life RICH

Renuka Gavrani
Better Advice
Published in
7 min readApr 28, 2023

--

Image by Author

Last year, I read 4000 Weeks by Oliver Burkeman in Shortform. Although it was supposed to be a book on productivity, I didn’t find any hacks in it.

That’s because the book is a tight slap on the face of productivity.

Just to brief you on the title, 4000 weeks is the average lifespan of humans. Yes, that’s right. Oliver wakes us from our illusion of thinking life is too big. It’s small. Very small. We have got only 4000 weeks and I am weak at math so calculate on your own ‘how many weeks you have already lost or how many are you left with’

But if keep the math aside, it makes me wonder, if we have only 4000 weeks and our life is so unpredictable then how will we experience it all?

There are many beautiful countries, so many cultures, cuisines, arts, books, and people and I will not be able to explore even 10% of it.

I always dreamt of traveling the world. But the world is too big and life is too short. Even if I get all the money and resources, I will not be able to travel to every beautiful city in every country. I can just be a traveler who skims through the world.

And there are so many books I want to read but I can never read all of them.

--

--

Renuka Gavrani
Better Advice

I talk about slow & Intentional living - taking you closer to a happy life. I am a published author of the book 'The Art of Being Alone': https://a.co/d/531JIFq