Hard Work: Strength or Fatal Weakness?

It’s not about how you do it, it’s about what you put out.

Anirban Kar
The Startup

--

“Sooner or later, hard work pays off!” — That’s what I captioned my last WhatsApp status a few days ago.

What was it about, the post? Well, nothing to brag about but, I won an annual writing contest in my city. No, it is not the prize money that excited me. I mean, of course, it was a factor. But there was something much more rewarding than that.

What was that? Well, last year, I couldn’t even qualify. Therefore, me being the winner this year meant so much. Why so? It proved, in a span of a year, my craft had improved drastically.

So what did I do next?

I took my phone, took a shot of the certificate, and shared it in my WhatsApp story. Now what I didn’t notice was that it mentioned prize money. It was equivalent to roughly $680. And it caught quite a few eyeballs.

As a result, I started getting calls left and right. Some of them were from my old batchmates, trying to know how they can earn the buck. Some of them were positive congratulatory calls. Among these 10–15 calls, there was one particular one that had me thinking. This single 3:25 minute call made me question the caption.

--

--

Anirban Kar
The Startup

Indian blogger. Words in Mind Cafe, Start Up, & Better Humans. Support me by getting a Membership here: https://anirbankar.medium.com/membership