Made with Midjourney and Canva

Just Right (Part 12)

Ivan: Days of Future Past

SJStone
Published in
5 min readAug 17, 2023

--

Just Right

38 stories

I walk a line I can imagine is worn into the hard stone now, my fingers lingering on the balustrade like the spine of a recent lover. I know it’s there, but I feel nothing. Below I can hear the late night traffic, behind me the slow easy breathing of my pets. The cool evening breeze caresses my bare chest, whisks between my bare legs. I stop at the corner overlooking Stuyvesant Square, gaze east toward the river and a container ship bound for Chile. My path is unconscious, a stroll through my past, through my present. I had no future, just like my cargo, just like this city. Just a past and a present. It is what it is now, what it was a moment ago, but it will be…nothing. Not yet. There are no promises kept in this place. There is no tomorrow that you do not make.

Somewhere nearby a man will be murdered, mugged, hit by a car. Across town a couple will be gunned down in a liquor store robbery. A body will be dumped into the Hudson and not found until the fish have had their fill. A child will be lost in the crowd and never see home again. I ignore the brutal horns that threaten…

--

--

SJStone

teacher. linguist. innovator. author. politico. realist. registered Independent. Navy veteran. Find me here: https://www.sjstoneauthor.com/