All Your Questions Answered, Ariel

♆ (Re: The Little Mermaid’s Qs from “Part of Your World”) ♆

Ernio Hernandez
Bacon Eggs & Geek
3 min readOct 30, 2015

--

Look at this stuff, isn’t it neat?

Not really, if you mean “cool.” But if you mean “tidy,” yes, it is all in place.

Wouldn’t ya think my collection’s complete?

If you mean the fork, spoon and knife, that’s just one three-piece place setting. (That’s not even including a salad fork, soup spoon, butter spreader or more.) For a complete collection, you want twelve to sixteen place settings — if you plan to entertain guests.

Wouldn’t ya think I’m the girl/
The girl who has everything?

Well…no. I mean, for starters: legs? But, I guess this stuff is kinda nice if you live underwater and consider clamshells fashion.

Look at this trove, treasures untold
How many wonders can one cavern hold?

It depends on the size of your cavern (…what she said) but an average grotto holds about 10. You could maybe squeeze another 5 or so if you stacked them on their sides.

Looking around here you’d think
Sure, she’s got everything.

Not a question, but no. No, I would not.

I’ve got gadgets and gizmos aplenty

It’s going to take SO much rice to get those working again.

I’ve got whozits and whatzits galore

Not a thing. Where are you getting your information? Oh, right, and from a wayward bird.

You want thingamabobs? I got twenty.
But who cares? No big deal.
I want more

Again, not a thing, and twenty is plenty.

I wanna be where the people are
I wanna see, wanna see ‘em dancin’
Walkin’ around on those
What do ya call ‘em? Oh, feet.

I’m answering the questions. Let me have this.

Flippin’ your fins you don’t get too far
Legs are required for jumpin’, dancin’
Strollin’ along down a
What’s that word again?
Street

LET ME HAVE THIS!

Up where they walk, up where they run
Up where they stay all day in the sun
Wanderin’ free, wish I could be
part of that world

What would I give if I could live
Out of these waters?

Well, you just mentioned wanting legs; you’d probably give your fin(s?) or whatever you call your torso. Spoiler alert: you trade your voice instead. Silly mermaid...

What would I pay to spend a day
Warm on the sand?

Many beaches are free, but some charge admission. Daily passes can cost anywhere from $5–10. I wouldn’t pay more than $10.

Betcha on land, they understand
Bet they don’t reprimand their daughters

I would not put money on that.

Bright young women, sick of swimmin’
Ready to stand

And ready to know what the people know
Ask ’em my questions
And get some answers

You’re welcome. Really, my pleasure.

What’s a fire and why does it What’s the word?
Burn

Simply put: a fire is a combustion or burning that produces light, heat and typically a flame. The burn, yes burn, is caused when a substance mixes with oxygen.

When’s it my turn?

The player to the left of the dealer goes first and play continues clockwise.

Wouldn’t I love, Love to explore that shore up above

I think this is rhetorical, but yes, you have made that clear. I mean… you burst into song about it.

Out of the sea, wish I could be
Part of that world

Oh, Ariel. Someday. Someday soon. Or… approximately 83 minutes retroactive from the start of this movie. Spoiler alert, sorry!

--

--