How You Can Make Your Long-Distance Relationship Work

It comes down to 2 steps, really

Anangsha Alammyan
P.S. I Love You
Published in
4 min readAug 21, 2020

--

My love language is touch.

I prefer physical expressions of love over verbal affirmations. Be it hand-holding, hugs, or cuddles, I need to feel my partner physically to know they are close, to understand that they cherish me.

This lockdown has been hard on me. Prior to this, even though my partner and I were in a long-distance relationship, we booked flights and adjusted schedules to meet each other at least once a month.

However, with the situation the world is in right now, the last time I met them was in February 2020.

I know this might not sound like a big deal to couples who live in different continents and are still making it work. But, to me, this felt like everything would end, at least in the earlier months. Both of us were so frustrated, that even when we managed to find time for a video call, we would end up blaming each other or recounting past disagreements.

I loved my partner. I didn’t want to lose them.

But, these daily quarrels and this insurmountable frustration was getting to my head. I felt like I could do it no longer.

It was a stick-together-or-break-up kind of situation. One day, we had a long talk to…

--

--