I Got The Same Question in 12 Data Analyst Interviews — How To Answer

Despite being non-technical, it was a simple but critical question to test how candidates interact with and source data.

Zach Quinn
Pipeline: Your Data Engineering Resource

--

Want to get into data analysis? Create a job-worthy data portfolio. Learn how with my free project guide.

Prior to beginning my current role, like most new graduates, after nearly two years in graduate school, I embarked on somewhere between 10–15 interviews for data analyst positions (although, for the record, I ended up working as a data engineer). While most of the questions were straightforward, I began to notice repeat inquiries, especially with reference to my portfolio. If you are interviewing for a data analyst, data scientist or data engineering position, you will instantly impress an interviewer if you can produce and concisely present a project from your portfolio.

A for hire sign.
Photo by Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

To my surprise, after I presented a few data analysis projects, I didn’t get any questions related to the statistics or scope of information I just provided.

The question I did receive:

Where did you get your data?

It’s a simple question, but how you answer conveys to an interviewer how resourceful you are when it…

--

--