Holiday to Tenerife: Part 4: Endless Beach Towels

Mitch Wade Cole
2 min readOct 5, 2015

Yesterday was slightly more eventful, we went to a crazy water park called ‘Siam Park’ it was pretty decent actually and realised I hadn’t been swimming since probably my last holiday which was eons ago.

It was out of season too so we got to wiz past all of the ‘1hour queue from this point’ signs. There were mostly Spanish folk but occasionally we would go a group of British ‘lads’ on a mad one or fully on stag. On 3 separate occasions when we got to the top one of the alpha males would shout to his mates “ladies first” then laugh and say “only kidding, I’ll go first”. I think it was a different group each time unless it’s one genius using the same joke repeatedly to entertain (annoy?) his friends.

I do think the culture is interesting here, I spoke to some towel salesmen and asked how popular the towels were as I would assume people bring their own on holiday. He told me “very, very” before proceeding to try and cut me a deal. Some of the towels are so novelty that I would struggle to find a place for it back at home in England. Some rude towels with naked ladies or ones with just giant spliffs on them, who makes these?

There were these weird vests you can buy with the kind of adult imagery you might find in VIZ. Do people buy these and walk around for, ye know, a laugh? I wish I was that brave I found them hilarious although they were just outside of my holiday budget.

--

--