How I Earned 9x My Job’s Salary from 5 Freelance Income Streams

But April was my worst month ever, and this doesn’t reflect on my finances.

Anangsha Alammyan
Freelancer’s Hub
Published in
4 min readMay 28, 2021

--

Image created by the author on Canva

Freelancing is a wild ride.

I haven’t turned full-time freelancer yet, but I’m already starting to understand the thrill of this lifestyle.

I have a day job that pays a decent enough salary to lead a happy life in my country, India.

But ever since I discovered the adrenaline rush of writing online and potentially exposing your work to millions of readers, I can’t get enough of it. In April 2021, I made more than 9 times the salary of my day job just by writing online. This article discusses the various streams of income I built for that.

Before we get started, here’s a disclaimer: April was a tough month for me emotionally. I didn’t work as much as I’d have liked to. But because of a silly reason (which you’ll find out towards the end of this article), I made more money than I ever have.

Read on to know the breakdown of the four streams of income I had for April 2021 as a freelancer.

Stream One: Medium (9%)

Writing on Medium was the reason I’d first thought of quitting my day job, but now I’ve come so far in my writing…

--

--