One game a month? Challenge accepted!

Florian Hollandt
#VoiceFirst Games
Published in
2 min readFeb 5, 2018

Some days ago, my friend Kevin Marshall made me aware of Christer McFunkypants Kaitila’s ‘One game a month’ challenge, and this one immediately resonated with me!
If you don’t care about the background, it’s safe to skip the next paragraph and read about my take on this.

The #1GAM challenge is all about encouraging game developers to learn and grow, by going through all the stages of game development on a regular basis. Typically, developing games (or maybe software in general) consists of a fun part where you play with your fresh idea and build an a prototype, and an (increasingly) hard part of expanding the prototype into an enjoyable and complete experience. By committing to finish a game by the month’s end, you get the focus and motivation to defeat procrastination and deliver.
There are no actual rules about this challenge: You can start early or late, and can use any platform. If you submit your game by the end of a month, you get experience points and badges, and rise on a leaderboard — That’s right, they gamified the gamedev experience! Now isn’t that delightfully meta?
I won’t be boring everyone by summing up the challenge’s FAQ. Two more things I like about it are: There is a theme for each month (for February 2018, it’s music), and there is a vibrant community around this challenge.

That’s pretty cool already, right? However, I’m going to take this one step further! Lately, I have been inspired by Kara Flaherty’s take on the #100DaysOfCode challenge, with tweeting and open sourcing her daily progress.
So that’s also how I will approach the #1GAM challenge: I will share my progress and learnings here and in Twitter, and will open source everything I produce in the scope of this challenge!

Actually, the #1GAM challenge was my trigger for starting this Medium blog about voice game development in the first place: I’m sure I will learn a lot through this challenge, and look forward to sharing it with you!
Speaking of sharing: Teamwork is explicitly encouraged, and I will actively seek and generate opportunities for collaborating on voice game production! If you have an idea for a collaborative project, please get in touch with me.

--

--

Florian Hollandt
#VoiceFirst Games

Maker, with a focus on Arduino, LEDs & 3D printing. There’s a range of other topics I’m also engaged and/or interested in, most notably Alexa skill development.