The Weird Technique I Use to Conquer Daily Guilt and Self-Regret

Effortlessly deal with lapses and make the most out of each day

Neeramitra Reddy
Publishous
Published in
4 min readAug 8, 2021

--

When the pandemic hit and governments across the world imposed the first lockdowns, my daily routine slowly crept to the dogs.

Long slumbers, Instagram’s infinite scroll, compulsive eating, and YouTube’s auto-play grabbed the reins of my life.

And my life galloped into a downward spiral of→ getting back to a proper routine, lapsing, wallowing in self-disgust, lapsing, again and again, utter misery, and back to a proper routine.

It’s completely normal to lapse in our routines, even the best of us do. But since we’re wired to react more strongly to negative stimuli, even the slightest lapse can sap our motivation and ruin our mood.

And most often, like dominos crashing, more and more lapses are triggered until you’re completely derailed from your routine and left wallowing in self-disgust and regret.

The reasoning is along the lines of — “Since I’ve already messed up, let me mess up more. I can start afresh from tomorrow.”

Thankfully, I discovered a nifty solution to this problem, by accident, in fact.

--

--

Neeramitra Reddy
Publishous

See(k)ing Truth ✦ Building manximize.com - the best home for soulful 360° self-development ✦ neeramitrareddy.com