I Failed Calc But I Can Do Data Engineering Math And So Can You

Learn the fundamental and surprisingly simple math concepts that form the basis for most analytics or data engineering jobs.

Zach Quinn
Pipeline: Your Data Engineering Resource

--

Once you master data engineering math, create a job-worthy data portfolio. Learn how with my free project guide.

“What’s With All The Letters?”

One of my favorite stories my grandfather tells goes like this: Sometime in the mid 1950s as a high school freshman he steps into a classroom, sees an algebraic expression on the board and says to his teacher: “I thought this is math. What’s with all of those letters?”

Decades later I waged my own battles against math, its problems and the increasingly frustrated but saintly individuals who attempted to teach me.

My struggle continued into data science grad school where my passion for shaping and presenting data far outweighed my willingness to apply mathematical proofs to ML models.

Like me, you might have chosen to pursue data engineering because of an aversion to statistical analysis or a downright hatred of theoretical math.

I have bad news for you: This job does involve math.

The good news is that, unlike data science, which relies on heavy statistical knowledge, data engineering problems can typically be solved with simple operations.

--

--