5 Tips to Get The Most Out of Each Book You Read

Unconventional ways to retain more information from books

Anangsha Alammyan
Publishous
Published in
7 min readJun 18, 2020

--

Photo by Fa Barboza on Unsplash

Ever since I learned the definition of “hobbies”, my answer to questions about my favourite would invariably be “Reading!”

I have read more than 700 books in my life, and each year, I add at least 50 new books to the list.

Several of my friends had asked me how I got so much reading done, and to address all their queries, I had written an article with all my personal tips and hacks.

One can argue that merely reading a book is not enough. You need to remember the points that spoke to you and apply them in your life. I believe that the point of reading was never mindless entertainment. Rather, the point of reading is to let the books be our crutches to move on to a better world, to a better version of ourselves.

Throughout all my time as an avid reader, I had been subconsciously following some steps to retain most of what I read. In this article, I am going to share five ways to get the most out of a book.

1. Underline, Highlight, Annotate

Some readers like to keep their books pristine. I am not one of them. I love the look of a well-thumbed book — dog-eared pages, creased spines, and page…

--

--