Personal Branding While Working a 9-to-5: Your Cheat Sheet

The one-stop guide to digital brand building like a pro while working full-time.

Anangsha Alammyan
The Startup
Published in
7 min readNov 30, 2023

--

Image from the author’s Instagram.

Every internet user in 2023 knows the value of building a personal brand.

From courses to webinars, hours of paid and free content are available on the web for brand building.

To my credit, I jumped on this ship early. I started writing on Quora in 2014 and ended up with the Top Writer badge twice — in 2016 and 2018.

While I worked a 9–5 job, I was writing online on the side. I expanded my social circles and started brand-building on LinkedIn, Twitter, and YouTube.

Today, I owe my full-time writing career to personal branding.

I keep receiving several requests and comments from people interested in my journey. My transition from a 9–5 routine to full-time writing makes most of them say, “You’re so lucky.”

Here, I beg to differ. Luck is but an algorithm you can rig to work your way towards success. You need to figure out the right strategies and put in the work. The results will take care of themselves.

In my case, years of personal branding assisted with my decision to become a full-time writer with a successful writing business. If you…

--

--