What I Had to Quit to Become A Successful Creator

You can’t have the cake and eat it too.

Anangsha Alammyan
Freelancer’s Hub
Published in
5 min readJul 2, 2024

--

Photo by Javier Sierra on Unsplash

The creator economy is expected to reach $600 billion by the end of 2036.

Today, the top 3% of creators are making $500K+ per year (as per the recent report of Influencer Marketing Hub).

I started my content creation journey by writing on Quora in 2014. It was an outlet for my creativity, and I had zero expectations of making any money. What started as a hobby in college soon transformed into a passion.

Later in 2020, I started creating content as a side hustle and monetized my skills for the first time.

Within just 2 years of content creation, I hit my first $10K+ month. While not a top creator yet, I’m still doing better than struggling to make ends meet.

Over the years, I tried various strategies, changed content plans, and evolved as a creator.

More than anything, I also quit doing certain things that weren’t working for me, and I owe my success as a creator to these decisions.

The need to “follow my heart”

When I started as a creator, I wrote about whatever my heart desired. This included a wide range of topics like —

  • Relationships

--

--