Warship Build 24 — Aegis Cruiser Block I

Francisco Duarte
3 min readMay 25, 2022

--

Now, you may be thinking that I have already covered the Aegis, and that is indeed true. However, someone on Facebook asked me if I could make a model based on the original art. So, here it is.

As you’re probably aware, I based many of my warship models on Steve Cross’ fan-made TROs. Like him, I am of the opinion that the later, better art represents what the ships should have looked like all along and the prior art should simply be set aside.

However, when I posted the prior Aegis model, someone told me that the original look of the vessel was his favorite one and asked if I could make a build based on it. I do take requests, but they usually just take a while to get made because I have a long backlog and a life that usually drains my free time like you won’t believe it.

With that said, how would I justify this different look, though? Of course, it is just art, something I do for the sake of it. But basing myself on a setting with such deep lore as BattleTech it would fare better if I managed to justify this different version of the ship.

Because it is so old, I imagined that the hull suffered several redesigns during its service life. Maybe the older vessels weren’t upgraded in such a different fashion, but the new ones were built to a different standard instead.

Thus, it would make sense that the original versions of the Aegis, which I dubbed “Block I,” would be somewhat different. I kept the engines and the keel similar to give the design some continuity but changed the rest to fit the best art of that original version of the vessel while keeping some hints that it is part of the same setting as my prior model of it.

One thing that I did not replicate was the bulbous front of the original. It gives the ship a somewhat… eccentric, look. So I angled it, and in this fashion, it also gives some vibes of the other model, while looking somewhat more primitive.

The model is presented in Star League colors and uses 60 parts plus the base.

Changes aside, I hope you guys like it. Let me know what you think.

--

--

Francisco Duarte

I’m a sci-fi and fantasy author who wrote for several game IPs and penned “Heather: a kaiju novel.” You can buy me a coffee: ko-fi.com/metastablemachine