5 Lessons That Helped Me Not Quit My Data Job in Week 1

If you think getting a data job is hard, just wait until you start one.

Zach Quinn
Pipeline: Your Data Engineering Resource

--

Boy lying facedown with a white flag.
Photo by Jackson Simmer on Unsplash

I need your help. Take a minute to answer a 3-question survey to tell me how I can help you outside this blog. All responses receive a free gift.

At the time of this publishing, I will have been working as a full-time remote data engineer in the publishing industry for over two years.

Just by identifying myself as a data engineer, I’m associated with a new wave of hype similar to that which data scientists encountered a decade ago.

Data industry influencers will tell you to up skill and learn data engineering to fill the perpetual shortages that are driving entry-level and median salaries well into the six figures.

But before you enroll in a bootcamp or sit for a certification exam, you should know something that few, including myself, talk about openly.

This job is hard. I should know.

I nearly quit halfway into my first week.

My intent in sharing my first-year experience is not to discourage you, the data candidate, from pursuing your passion or seeking a better career.

--

--