The Common Effect of Being Productive All the Time

What I learned from it

Paulo A. José
Publishous

--

Photo by Sarah Chai: https://www.pexels.com/photo/young-working-mother-cuddling-baby-and-using-laptop-at-home-7282818/

A few months ago, I was in a moment of exhaustion and frustration.

I was trying to be as productive as possible, and eventually, things stopped working. I would fall into fits of crying and nervousness.

This cycle kept going until, in a psychology class, I learned something that came as a punch in the gut.

I came to understand, physiologically, what was happening to me and that if I continued to take things the same way, they would only get worse. Since then, I’ve wanted to pass this learning on because I know that this isn’t just my process.

It’s widespread how much people are trying to be productive, living exhausting journeys that negatively affect their mental health. According to the WHO, depression is the most disabling mental illness in the world.

What I (and maybe you too) was experiencing

With a degree in journalism, but trying to change areas, I was (and am) doing research for a master’s degree at university, freelancing in journalism, and a degree in psychology.

I had to be “100% productive” to cope with everything. I had intense schedules, and everything fitted in with no gaps. For the first few days, it…

--

--