Fuck Pattern Recognition

The experience of a 42 year old female entrepreneur 

Melinda Byerley
6 min readDec 29, 2013

--

I pushed the code to Git, breathed a sigh, and reached for my supper on the table next to me, which by then had grown cold.

For the last 3 weeks I’d been stripping out every single line of CSS and HTML my CTO and co founder had put in our initial launch page. We were using Bootstrap. When I went in to make some basic changes, I discovered an opportunity to make sure we were scalable on their platform. Steffan, my co founder, was and is deeply focused on the technical guts of our product in Scala; and I knew this HTML and CSS stuff was within my skillset. He was utterly egoless about his code in the best Silicon Valley tradition; and had been thrilled that I was willing to take this on. He’d been helping me here and there along the way, along with a few other mentors I had when things got beyond what I could solve with Stack Overflow. He taught me Git, corrected my commit documentation, brought me new tools to use, and supported my effort in his most amazing, patient, consistently enthusiastic way.

Skype lit up. Steffan had sent me a file: “git pull.png.”

--

--

Melinda Byerley

Founder, Fiddlehead. Growth Hacker/Poetry Writer. Serious Politics/Silly Jokes. Cornell MBA.