Just QUIT smoking

Evan Guerra
This is Eternity
2 min readJan 28, 2016

--

For good.

Early one morning; August 14th, 2015 to be exact; I awoke in a panicked state with the horrible sensation that my lungs were literally on fire. There was no guessing why this was the case. I was a dirty pack-a-day smoker.

I decided to quit.

Why am I writing about this? It’s not necessary to babble on for too long about the obvious health problems that inevitably arise from smoking cigarettes. Warnings why smoking is bad are everywhere. Even on cigarette packaging.

Anti-smoking campaigns are becoming increasingly brutal. Deflated is the coolness of sparking up a cigarette as a means of attraction. James Dean probably wouldn’t be PC with his bad-boy image in modern times. I digress.

I would like to drive home one point in particular to anyone putting off giving up the habit or going through a quit. And it’s this.

You may think each time you light up a cigarette you’re de-stressing. I thought like this for years. But in reality you’re only exacerbating any stressors in your life.

Life is far easier to tackle without smoking cigarettes. This I now know to be true. After 6 months of NOT smoking I am still discovering new changes in my outlook to life. My lungs continue to thank me everyday and I no longer smell like a crusty bar.

You either want to quit or you don’t.

You either want to die prematurely or you don’t.

Choice is yours.

Sincerely.

A smug reformed smoker.

FacebookInstagramGoodreadsPinterestYouTube

Google+ — TumblrSoundCloudLinkedIn

--

--