photo by Laurie Simpson

An Introduction to Me

The Story Behind Who I Am

olivia✨
Inglorious Bloggers
2 min readSep 16, 2015

--

I live for that feeling you get when you're with the people you love, laughing so hard it hurts; filling my soul to the cusp with joy. Whether it’s culturally motivated or independent to my being, passion is the driving force behind all I do. It was instilled in me by my parents at a young age that education was the key to a fulfilling and successful life. So throughout my entire academic career I focused on achieving to the best of my ability. My dedication to education has never wavered, it has only been emblazoned by all the creative insight I’m surrounded by, absorbing everything like a gluttonous sponge. This insatiable appetite for knowledge and exploration describes who I am as Whittier Scholar and a writer.

My passionate spirit is not regulated to merely the realm of academia, but also to my relationships with my friends and family. The picture above is of me and best friends taken this summer. It all began freshmen year of high school and for some of us, even going as far back as elementary school. Our friendship has withstood busy schedules, different time zones, and even continents. We have enough inside jokes, crazy mishaps, and unbelievable adventures, to fill entire encyclopedia collections. One story I can recount was when we all piled into my beloved Kitty (1995 Honda Accord) and headed to the beach to watch the sunset on a cold December day. There was something undeniably beautiful of all of us huddled together, being comfortable with the silence as we watched the painted sky fade into night. There’s an unspoken bond between us, an innate feeling of connection that makes us more than just a group of friends, but sisters.

In order to have success in education/career, relationships, and life in general, I feel that dedication and commitment are necessary components. I don’t know if I would’ve been able to accomplish all I’ve done up to this point, if I didn’t have passion; if my heart and soul, weren’t my motivators.

--

--