In the Hands of Gods

Rohan Bhatt
3 min readApr 29, 2019

The first human to wield me was a smith; steady and measured.

He made me feel… delicate; light as a feather.

The second was a Knight; reeking of hubris. His life was as muddled as one of his stupors.

The third was his killer; tempered in rage. He took me from blood. Then too, he bathed.

A droplet of blood in a body of water

Conquest was nigh.

The game was afoot.

He sold me for ale, without even a look.

The fourth was a soldier, with green in his eyes. He took me back home and gave me a shine.

He made his estate, and his son came thereafter.

From sunrise to sunset, I sat with my captor.

Through brothers, and nephews, the daughters I fell to.

The bastards, the husbands, the boors, and the duels.

For pride and for greed of you sinners and fools.

For the blood of your kings

And in endings too cruel.

Immovable paths force us to pursue new perspectives

The thousandth to hold me was bent out of shape.

Strapped to her back, in breath and her gait.

She told me a story.

She gave me a name,

one she would never utter again.

The next was her husband, vicious and flagrant.

He took me by force, but she was his favor.

I sang in the dances, she wept in the day

She longed for the past, but I cut it away

She lost every word to her dearly beloved

It stopped in her throat, with all that she coveted

Passed on as if but a utensil, and taken for granted. Ubiquity in its element.

Left to her daughter, in her dismay

Dulling my face as her hair dropped away

I sat by her side, a remnant of youth

Of people she feared,

And things they misused.

She’d keep me secure, and leave me as earth.

With freedom, I’m sheathed, and free to observe.

From nature, to nurture

From loser, to victor.

She kept me encased, left with a picture,

and wrote out a message to tell my adventure.

“For kingdoms forgotten, and crowns lay long melted,

For humble,

and happy,

and sorrow,

and selfish.

The end never coming,

and passed on their deathbed

she carries a lesson from books never written:

Metal ruled men; for men had no mettle.

And men got more metal, instead.”

-Rohan Bhatt

4/29/19

--

--

Rohan Bhatt

The way meteorites evaporate in Earth's atmosphere reminds me of the way rational thought is dying in our country