It’s Not About Can or Cannot. It’s About Wanting It

Do you want it or not? That’s what matters.

Kevin Nokia
5 min readSep 10, 2024
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

I can do it.

I can’t do it.

I think I couldn’t do it.

I think I can’t finish it.

I think I can, could, can’t, or couldn’t.

Most of us struggle with overthinking and preparation. We might procrastinate over and over again. The goals and what we wanted were already in front of us.

I know you might have planned many of your goals. I know you might have planned what you are going to do for the next couple of days. Whether it’s about a holiday or whatever you are working on, even so, we find it hard to achieve those goals. Just for one hour of doing it seems like a big task.

This is where stress comes in.

I don’t like to be in that place where you have big dreams and hope, but the reality seems not to be what you planned. The gap between your dreams and your reality is depressing.

It’s okay to feel that way, and in this article, I will help you remove that. I will help you start taking action.

We’re all capable.

We all can achieve our goals.

It’s not about whether you can do it or not. It’s about whether you want it or not.

Whatever skills you have, you are capable of learning the skill, achieving your goals, and making big projects.

What’s the difference between you and Elon Musk? You are the same human being who eats food and needs to drink water.

It’s not that you need to make the same company, but it’s to show you that everything is capable. Making a great company and becoming the richest man in the world. Human beings are capable.

Now, here comes the problem.

Most of us didn’t want it.

Yeah, you want it and imagine it every day, but you didn’t take action on it.

You didn’t start your business.

You didn’t quit your toxic friends.

You didn’t tell your boss what was best for you.

You just didn’t do it.

In these 3 months, starting from May to July, I was doing a 12-week year.

I did run smoothly at first. I write for about 12 minutes and then gradually increase it until 90 minutes. Well, it didn’t go quite as well until the middle of June.

I didn’t write at all, I didn’t read, and I didn’t do anything that I had planned. I was embarrassed with myself because I help people build their reading habits, but there I am, where I didn’t implement what I said in my writing.

Then I tried to get back up, but it didn’t quite go well. I plan every day, but still, I don’t have the motivation to start. I think I can’t do it. That’s how it ended that day.

Not for long, I decided to just reset myself.

It goes on for about 3 days, until I become much better. Well, I did become much better, but I still find it hard to start.

Until I force myself to just do it.

I just forced myself to sit down and write for 90 minutes. At first, it was so hard. I get distracted easily. Then, after a while, I successfully finished writing for 90 minutes.

I gained the confidence to start continuing my writing session.

What can we learn and what can you implement from my story?

1. Just do it.

It’s not whether you can or cannot. You always can, and you just need to do it.

Even if you failed.

Nah.

Don’t think about failing; just do it.

Do it, but remember to keep it safe. Do not go over where you bring yourself to accident or self-harm.

2. Start small

Start as small as you can.

If you are struggling to maintain consistency in writing, try to write for 1 minute. When you get the motivation to keep going, go ahead and continue until you achieve what you want in your writing session.

Whether it’s a 90-minute writing session or finishing all of your tasks, just start.

3. Change your mindset.

It is time to change your mindset about what you can and cannot do.

You know you can do it. But do you want it or not?

It’s a big difference.

The key is that we can all achieve what we want and make progress. I don’t guarantee you that you will achieve all of your dreams. I guarantee that you will make some progress beyond what you have planned. You will start building yourself up and becoming better every day.

Then, without your realizing it, you have already achieved your goals.

Ready to Transform Your Reading Habit? 📚 | From Zero to Consistent Reader

If you’ve struggled to pick up a book or stick to reading, this free course is designed just for you.

Reading 0 → Reading 1: From not reading at all to reading consistently and loving it.

🔍 Inside the Course, You’ll Learn How to:

  • Find books you’ll actually enjoy 📚
  • Master the art of skimming for quick insights 🔍
  • Start small and build momentum 🚀
  • Develop the mindset and identity of a true reader 🧠

→ Click Here to Access the Full Free Guide and Start Your Reading Journey Now!

Limited-Time Offer: Unlock “The Habit of Reading” course for free today and take your first step toward becoming the reader you’ve always wanted to be!

New Substack! ✨

I’ve been working on making my articles more structured and exclusive, and I found the perfect platform in Substack.

I’m excited to share two new newsletters with you:

  • Kevin Nokia Writing: My personal journey from struggling through depression to becoming a successful individual.
  • I Am Literate: Discover how to replace scrolling addiction with effective reading habits to improve focus and attention span.

Join now for exclusive articles and a growing community!

Essential Resources for Your Journey 📚

  • The Mastery of Reading (Paid) | Download here
    A Step-by-step Guide to Mastering Your Reading Habit from 0 to 100
  • 30-day Simple Habit Tracker (Free) | Download Here
    Track Your Daily Habits with Customizable Months
  • Life-changing Blueprint (Free) | Download Here
    How to Change Your Life with Implementation Guide
  • My Booknotes (Free) | Download here
    Understand What You Read with Implementation Guide

--

--

Kevin Nokia

Building reading and writing habits to eliminate doom-scrolling with I Am Literate https://substack.com/@kevinnokiawriting