Cannabis Journalism Day #3

maggie sweeney
Cannabis Journalism
2 min readDec 3, 2015

This morning we had a Skype session with Rick Bakas (@30DollarPairing), who used to live in Denver. It was interesting to hear about his relationship with and perspectives of cannabis, and the evolution of the site WeedHorn.

Rick Bakas

Our afternoon guests were two individuals from Sweet Grass Kitchen, a cannabis edibles bakery in Denver. I found them both to be very approachable and understanding people. It was cool that they gave us their contact information and offered us an internship opportunity.

I thought it was critical that Julie Berliner, the founder of the bakery, put such a big emphasis on responsibility regarding consumption of edible products. They have a recommended dosage warning on their website, and they seem tight with age limits on consumption. I think that this is something that’s often overlooked by some distributers who are soeley focused on making a profit. It’s important for us to help educate one another regarding safety considerations particularly with the recent legalizations. Now that weed is legal in some states, and decriminalized in many others, it should be something that’s talked about more openly in society.

Sweet Grass Kitchen
Sweet Grass Products

Research Progress…

In between our guest speakers, and after class today, I spent some time doing more research for my essay. I found some relevant graphs and stats that will help prove my point, and highlight the evidence of racial disparities within the criminal justice system, particularly regarding marijuana related crimes. I also plan to talk more about how trends have been changing from a legal standpoint thanks to the perpetually expanding industry, yet expose how the racial divide remains constant.

I also spent some time familiarizing myself with twitter today. The website is relatively new to me, and i’m beginning to like it more and more each day as I realize it’s valuable networking and connection benefits. I’m also realizing that it’s been a huge help in finding relevant articles and information for my research project. Tweeting or retweeting relevant articles helps me organize sources on my profile that I can easily refer back to while writing my paper.

--

--