Why Successful Independent Women Struggle To Find a Partner

“Girl bosses” are not thriving in love.

Desiree Peralta
Publishous

--

Photo by Karolina Grabowska

I received a call from someone who had not spoken for a long time, one of my best friends from school, Abigail, back when I was 13.

She wanted to reunite with all the girls from the 2010 class because she wanted to give us important news and know about what had happened in our lives.

At first, I was hesitant because I hadn’t seen those people in years, and I felt I didn’t have anything in common with anyone there anymore. But after thinking about it for a while, I decided to go anyway.

And I was glad I did it because the reunion was a success. We were all very friendly and happy to see each other; everything felt like before.

The news that Abigail wanted to tell us was that she was expecting her first baby, and she was thrilled. She wanted to share the news personally with us because we were an important part of her life for a time, and we knew how important it was for her to have a family.

Something curious that I noticed is that apart from Abigail and me (who both have a fiancé), none of the other girls had romantic partners.

All of them were successful women, some with professional companies, others with important positions…

--

--

Desiree Peralta
Publishous

Turning ideas into reality. Programmer by profession, Writer by passion. Finance and business advice. | Weekly money advice https://dessyperalt.substack.com/