Do You Buy Into Meditation Myths?

Here are nine common meditation misconceptions

Kelly Santana Banks
Publishous
Published in
8 min readMar 19, 2024

--

Photo by Conscious Design on Unsplash

Throughout the years, I’ve heard all types of stories about the practice of meditation. Comments such as “You need to sit still,” “Meditation is for religious people,” “Your mind needs to be clear for you to meditate,” and so forth.

While I was an apprentice, I never gave much thought to them. Maybe because I always embraced new experiences with open arms. Or, perhaps, this openness helped me get hooked on meditation from the first day I participated in a session. Whatever the case, this continuous practice changed my life forever.

Yet, as a coach, I find these myths amusing when I reflect on them now. Not because of the silliness in these assertions. But oftentimes the one-sided lens we tend to filter our world, events, and situations may prevent us from seeing the other side, which could potentially bring overwhelming benefits to us. In this case, I’m talking about the meditation practice.

Meditation is multifaceted. The context in which it came about, evolved (spreading through Eastern cultures), and reached us in Western societies is so rich and broad that we can get into a rabbit hole only with that. So, I’ll leave this to another post.

Time to Debunk These Myths

--

--

Kelly Santana Banks
Publishous

Author of Youth, Yogi, Meditation Coach. Coffee is my fuel. Libraries are my playground. #SCBWI member. https://linktr.ee/ksmeditativeauthor