Creating Basic Animation In Jetpack Compose

Step-by-Step guide on how to create basic animations in jetpack compose

Raheem Hameed
2 min readJan 17, 2023
Photo by Sebastian Svenson on Unsplash

Before the release of Jetpack Compose, I have always viewed animation in Android development as something hard or rather difficult to comprehend for a beginner, but since the release of Jetpack Compose, I have seen amazing stuff other developers have done with the combination of Jetpack Compose, Canvas, and other Android development tools, and I've decided to take a bold step and start meddling with animation in Android.

The Step Forward…

After speaking with Anmol Verma about it, he gave me some advice that I plan to follow, which is why I’m writing this. He told me to visit CodePen and search for basic animation to start with, and from there I’ll move on to more advanced animation.

What I have done…

After heeding the given advice, I visited CodePen and came across a very simple and basic icon animation, which I’ll be starting with, and as I continue this journey, I’ll be sharing the steps, difficulties, challenges, and what I learned in the process. My goal is to break it down, so beginners won’t have a problem grasping and understanding it.

I’ll be starting with a very simple animation, which I’ve written about below

Thank you, and don’t forget to clap and follow me for more Android development articles.

--

--

Raheem Hameed

Native Android developer | Mobile Developer, I write about thoughts and problems I solve and help other developers avoid them.